For $1,000,000…

April 3, 2009

stacked_skulls

Would you live in a house built on an Indian burial ground for a year?

If your life was a horror movie, here’s a list of things that would ensure your death by the next scene:

  • Going to check out that strange noise in the basement
  • Following your cat into the basement, where it’s headed because it heard a strange noise
  • Ignoring those menacing prank phone calls
  • Babysitting
  • Having sex
  • Taking your friend up on his offer of a weekend away at his family’s secluded cabin in the woods
  • Exploring said woods
  • Ignoring the advice of the town crazy person when he or she becomes strangely lucid on the subject of how you need to get the hell out of there
  • Using an ancient book to conjure up demons
  • Taunting inbred locals

And then we have the granddaddy of Horror Movie Death Predictors that this dare relies on: having anything to do with an indian burial ground. When some hapless family or greedy developer attempts to move in or build condos, you know they’re gonna get it but good. Still, this is real life we’re dealing with, not Zombie Braves of Doom #7, so I’d be willing to give this a try. Maybe I’d end up with a phantom tomahawk embedded in my skull, but maybe I’d merely end up a million dollars richer. I’ll play the odds.

– Lauren

I would do this dare for a lot of reasons (i.e., money), but I would definitely be nervous about it. As I mentioned before, I am a bit of le crackpot. Which means I believe in ghosts — and while I 1) like the scary, freak-me-outness involved in actually living in a haunted house, 2) it kinda makes me wanna puke, too. Still, pukey or not, for a million dollars, I’d pack up and move in today. And for another grand I’d have a t-shirt made that said I’D RATHER BE DESECRATING INDIAN BURIAL GROUNDS RIGHT NOW.

– Kali

9 Responses to “For $1,000,000…”

  1. Yancey Says:

    doing this for money seems like something that would particularly upset the indian ghosts. i actually would pass on this, weirdly enough.

  2. alantru Says:

    I’ll never understand why they go into that basement…
    🙂

    I have to agree with Yancey. This one has a spooky “payback’s a bitch” karma thing going on. I’d definitely pass on this one.

  3. alantru Says:

    I prefer the term “coward”
    🙂


  4. Overnight maybe, but not for a year. Keep the money.

  5. Alix Says:

    Oh c’mon. I’d totally do this.


  6. i would do it for the money but the money wouldnt do me much good when i die from a heart attack because im scared the india ghosts are molesting me. but in reality it will just be my own hand but i would still blame the ghosts. this is such a complicated question.

  7. Anna Says:

    I’m saying no to this one, as Indian burial grounds are in short supply on this side of the Atlantic and the money wouldn’t really go far when you factor in flights and stuff. Celtic sacrifice spot / circle of megaliths/ Druidic grove however – bring it on.


  8. I would definitely do this. I have no superstitions about this sort of thing — bring it on, dead folks!


Leave a Reply

